RSS Feed

Tasty Tours of Toronto

Looking for a gift for that hard to buy friend? Well if they like sweets or chocolate, consider a Tasty Tour.  I participated in two different tours last year, both of which I bought for myself and two friends as Christmas presents (it actually took us all year to coordinate and book a date!).

First up was the Trinity Bellwoods Chocolate Tour in the spring.  I don’t want to give away all the locations we visited, but I was happy to start my tour at Le Dolci! As always, Lisa was a gracious host.  My friend and I had actually gotten there early and enjoyed a lemonade on the patio.

Other stops included a patisserie, an Asian grocery and a chocolatier.  At each stop, the owner would give us some explanation of their product and then we would taste a specific item.  At our last stop, we even got to see and taste a cacao bean.

You may recognize this spot.

You may recognize this spot.

IMG_1166

Cacao bean

Cacao bean

IMG_1169

The second tour was of Kensington Market Sweets Tour.  We actually started in Chinatown and learned the changing history of Kensington Market. Again, I don’t want to give away any of the stops specifically, but the sweets we tasted were very international.

IMG_1726

Chinese egg tart

IMG_1728

Pastries in the Chinese bakery.

IMG_1732

Churros!

IMG_1736

mmm, marshmallows

IMG_1729

Lebanese sweet

IMG_1730 IMG_1738

The tours are between $30 and $35 a tour per adult (children are $10 and $15, under 7 free!) plus HST.  Each tour has a guide who not only knows the history of the area but also of the individual shops.  It is not a lot of walking either, even though you do meander through the neighbourhoods.  Our guide each time had much historical information, of the neighbourhood and what we were eating, and I learned many new bits of information.  I enjoyed both my tours though I found that our “tastes” were small in some shops. It actually inspired me to create our Beer Tour of Montreal!

**I was not asked to write this review or was compensated for the tours.  The tours of my two friends were bought by me as presents, and I paid for my own tours.  All thoughts and opinions are my own.

2 responses »

  1. Pingback: Bring This, Not That: Tour Guides vs. Self-Guided Tours : Travelpro Luggage Blog

  2. Hi foodtravelfun,

    We have just sent you a message through email regarding our project.
    We MyTaste.com one of the biggest recipe search engine in United States and in the world, would like to invite your blog to be featured on our site and make your recipes available to many people.

    If you like it, you can join through this link http://www.mytaste.com/add-your-food-blog.

    This is one way to share your recipes to the world and it can also help you to increase your blog traffic.

    Full information has been sent to your email.

    Have a good day!

    Kind regards,

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 180 other followers

