RSS Feed

Tuscany- part 1

I was fortunate to spend 10 days in Italy this past July.  My husband’s family has a villa in Chianti and love to go when possible. This was my first real trip to Italy (I skied over the French border when I was 16 for the day) and I was excited! Coffee, wine, the food.  My husband shares these passions as well as one for taking pictures of anything and everything.

I want to highlight some of my food memories and restaurants where we ate.  First off is the pizza.  It was World Cup time and piazza’s and café spaces were at a premium.  We smartly booked the nights when a game was on, ordered pizzas and bottles of wine to share.

Our favourite cafe

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The pizza is nothing like I have had in Canada.  Thin, doughy, wet with great fresh toppings.  We usually order ones with Italian meats (prosciutto, parma ham, sausage) and lots of cheese.  I think that our default lunch became pizza because the small would feed both of us with leftovers.  Also they were incredibly cheap.  Definitely a must, even though it seems strange (to me) to eat pizza in Italy when I could have tried other things.  But that is what dinner was for 🙂

The waiter kindly split the pizza up for us.

2 responses »

  1. Pingback: Heather’s Frosted Chocolate Chip & Double Chocolate Chip Cookies

  2. Pingback: My first year! A review « Food, travel and fun with an uptown gal

Leave a Reply

