RSS Feed

Daring Baker Challenge March: Yeasted Meringue Coffee Cake

Out of the oven!

Recipe Source: Jamie found this recipe on a piece of yellowed paper in her dad’s collection of clipped out and hand-written recipes from the 1970’s, no source, no date, and she tried the recipe and it was brilliant!

Blog-checking lines: The March 2011 Daring Baker’s Challenge was hosted by Ria of Ria’s Collection and Jamie of Life’s a Feast. Ria and Jamie challenged The Daring Bakers to bake a yeasted Meringue Coffee Cake.

I was intrigued by this month’s challenge.  I couldn’t remember if I had ever tried to make something by hand with yeast (I don’t count my bread maker).  I had a “Fat Friday” coming up – where 1 colleague feeds the office- so I was in.

I found the recipe easy to follow, even the kneading!  I did both with Ria’s garam masala, cashews and chocolate chips.  My second cake (above) looked much better, i.e. rounder.  The cake itself is chewy and moist, though I didn’t have the obvious layers of filling that could be seen when sliced.  No matter, the office loved it and the second one was nice as breakfast in bed the next morning.

 

Milk and butter heating up

Ready for kneading

Cashews, chocolate chips on meringue base

All rolled up

Ready for the oven

 

 

Leave a Reply

