RSS Feed

Daring Baker Challenge April: Maple mousse

The April 2011 Daring Bakers’ challenge was hosted by Evelyne of the blog Cheap Ethnic Eatz. Evelyne chose to challenge everyone to make a maple mousse in an edible container. Prizes are being awarded to the most creative edible container and filling, so vote on your favorite from April 27th to May 27th at http://thedaringkitchen.com!

I cheated.  I did not use one of the mousse recipes that was listed.  Why? Because I don’t eat gelatin (if I can help it).  If I am not eating the food with it, I’ll use it, but I am eating this, so no go.  So instead I used a recipe from a defunct food magazine from President’s Choice (see below).

I did decide to make a bacon cup, because, well, its bacon!  One cup was woven tightly enough that once baked, it was able to hold the mousse.

The finished product.

The challenge was pretty easy.  The hardest part was waiting for the mousse to set in the freezer.  I don’t think I would make bacon cups again, it was hard to figure out how to eat it afterward.  But as my mom is allergic to chocolate, this was a great for her, as I left the mousse with her.

Recipe

1 1/2 cups (325 ml) whipping cream, very cold

6 large egg yolks (very fresh)

1 cup (250ml) maple syrup

In a chilled bowl, beat whipping cream until it holds stiff peaks; cover and refrigerate until ready to use.  In the clean bowl of a stand mixer with the whip attachment or with electric beaters, beat egg yolks with maple sryup until mixure is very thinsk and pale, 8-10 minutes.  It should fall in a heavy ribbon when beaters are lifted.  Using a large rubber spatula, fild in whipped cream.  Transfer mousse to a shallow freezer-proof dish.  Cover mousse tightly with plastic wrap and a piece of aluminum foil and freeze for 6-8 hours, or until thick and spoonable, about the consistency of soft-serve ice cream.  Yields 6-8 servings.

Leave a Reply

