RSS Feed

Cinco de Mayo means Guacamole! Blogger Challenge

Posted on

Miss Ava Cado- Mexico's Avocado Ambassador

Once again, this post is related to Twitter. It was on there that I saw a retweet for a guacamole challenge with @MissAvaCado and Avocados from Mexico.  So I inquired further and 2 days later, a package arrived at my door with everything I needed to concoct some new guacamole recipes and a how-to guide for hosting a Cinco de Mayo party.  Officially this is the Avocados from Mexico Cinco de Mayo Blogger Challenge.

The package on my doorstep

Inside the package.

My ingredients. Cute stickers!

They also included a promo package about how to choose an avocado for when you want to eat it, nutritional facts, the story of Miss Ava Cado and a backgrounder about avocados from Mexico.

I decided to make 3 new recipes and then test them out for some feedback.  I added a fourth recipe thanks to my neighbour’s daughter-in-law’s suggestion.  I used all the standard ingredients (cilantro, lime juice, salt/pepper) and then played around.  Each of the pictures is made with 1 avocado.

The assembled ingredients

Recipe #1 Mango Bacon.

Avocado, Garlic, Red onion, Tomato, Mango, Bacon, Sea salt, Pepper, Cilantro, Lime juice

Who can go wrong with bacon?  I wanted the saltiness of the bacon and the sweetness of the mango to complement each other.

Bacon Mango

Recipe #2 Pineapple Jalapeño

Avocado, Garlic, Red onion, Tomato, Pineapple, Jalapeño, Cilantro, Sea Salt, Pepper, Lime Juice

Slightly the same idea here; the sweetness of the pineapple would balance out the heat of the peppers.  I did take the seeds out, but I think I would leave a few in the next time.

Pineapple Jalapeño

Recipe #3 The Koko Taylor

Avocado, Garlic, White Onion, Tomato, Strawberry, Pecans, Herb Goat Cheese, Lime Juice, Sea Salt,Pepper

This one is inspired by a salad at a local restaurant, Hwy 61.  It was a favourite of most people I tested it on.

The "Koko Taylor"

Recipe #4 Cranberry Goat Cheese

Avocado, Garlic, White Onion, Tomato, Dried cranberries, Herb Goat Cheese, Lime Juice, Sea Salt, Pepper

Cran-Goat cheese

This one grew on everyone.  People found that the tartness of the cranberry worked well with the smoothness of the avocado. It was the one made from the suggestion.
Thanks to Avocados from Mexico for the opportunity; this was my first blogger challenge!


2 responses »

  1. I just stopped by your blog and thought I would say hello. I like your site design. Looking forward to reading more down the road.

    Like

    Reply
  2. Pingback: My first year! A review « Food, travel and fun with an uptown gal

Leave a Reply

