RSS Feed

Attempting Chicken Stock

Posted on

My father routinely teases me that I never make @WineGuyTO dinner.  I usually reply that I am not a 50s housewife and we both know how to cook, so it’s not all on me.  But he had a point that we eat out a lot (which we enjoy).  I got a little adventurous this week and bought a whole chicken.  It turned out well, used a PC marinade as my seasoning, and served with some delicious fresh asparagus.  But I didn’t want to just throw out the carcass.  So I decided to attempt to make my own stock.

I know that people are shaking their heads going, ‘really? This is her post? Easy!’ And I agree, but being the slightly type A personality that I have been accused of being, I had to learn and do this myself.

I quick perusal of the internet reminded me of what ingredients (other than carrots and celery) I would need.  I used (loosely) the Jamie Oliver recipe, omitting the leeks because they were too expensive.

My version:

1 whole chicken carcass, already roasted and flavoured

Approx. 4 carrots, chopped

3 celery stalks, chopped

1 whole yellow onion, sliced

1 whole elephant garlic clove, sliced

Thyme (dried, cause forgot to get fresh)

Sage, 1 whole stalk

Rosemary, 2 stalks

Bay leaves, about 4

Black peppercorns (as many as you like, I did about 1 tsp)

approx. 8 cups of cold water

I put this on to boil, then turned down the heat to a simmer and left it on about 13 hours.   I found I didn’t need to skim any fat either, maybe because it was the carcass?  I found that everything in the pot was fall apart cooked the next morning.  The colour was the amber that Jamie talked about.  I froze two sets of ice-cube trays and 2×1 cup and 2×2 cup Ziploc bags full.  Cold, the taste was full and flavourful.  I look forward to making soup and using it!  I think it worked 🙂

**Once frozen in the ice-cube trays, the fat looked like it had risen to the surface, can assume that I can brush it off (probably won’t though, fat is good).

All the ingredients save water.

Covered in water

Strained and cooled.

Simmering (bad photo, sorry)

One response »

  1. Pingback: Daring Kitchen: From Stock to Soup « Food, travel and fun with an uptown gal

Leave a Reply

