RSS Feed

July Daring Cook: Hand-made (literally) Pasta

Posted on

Steph from Stephfood was our Daring Cooks‟ July hostess. Steph challenged us to make homemade noodles without the help of a motorized pasta machine. She provided us with recipes for Spätzle and Fresh Egg Pasta as well as a few delicious sauces to pair our noodles with!

This was a challenge I was up for!  I don’t eat much pasta anymore (not like in University) and usually it is rice noodles to avoid gluten.  A colleague of mine makes all his own pasta with his KitchenAid and it has always been good, and he said it was easy, so here is my version 🙂

I went with a basil fettucine because I wanted to use what was in season, and I could use the basil from my garden. My recipe was from All Recipes (click here) and the only variation I made was to omit the food processor and do it all by hand (except for the basil, needed it chopped very fine and paste-y).

The whole process was really, really, simple.  It was nice getting my hands messy.  I let it chill more than 2 hours, and only rolled out enough for one plate, rewrapping the rest for the freezer.  Again with the local theme, I threw in some fresh peas (from my garden!) with olive oil.  It didn’t quite come out as thin as I wanted, but once cooking the basil smell was strong.  Definitely will try again, but in the food processor!

The finished product

Leave a Reply

