RSS Feed

Daring Baker -August is for Chocolate

The August 2011 Daring Bakers’ Challenge was hosted by Lisa of Parsley, Sage, Desserts and Line Drive and Mandy of What the Fruitcake?!. These two sugar mavens challenged us to make sinfully delicious candies! This was a special challenge for the Daring Bakers because the good folks athttp://www.chocoley.com offered an amazing prize for the winner of the most creative and delicious candy!

I have been negligent about Daring Bakers/Cooks this summer.  I had to put reminders into my calendar so that I would complete the challenges on time.

This one thought was easy; making chocolates!  We were challenged to make chocolates using the tempering method.  Growing up my mother made chocolates for Easter (with me helping) so this was more fun than challenge.

We had to make two types of chocolate, so I choose bark and bonbon.  I used dark chocolate wafer for both, using the double boiler tempering method.

My first was bark with dried blueberries, simple but delicious.

Dark chocolate blueberry bark

Second was supposed to be white chocolate bonbons, but the white would not melt well (does chocolate go stale?), so I got one in white and finished the rest in the dark chocolate.  I used pre-made marzipan and kneaded in pistachios and a little bit of peach vodka :). My only problem wad that the marzipan got liquidly when dipped in the chocolate so I learned to be quick!

Dark chocolate peach pistachio bonbons

6 responses »

  1. I love the idea of topping the bark with dried blueberries. It looks quite elegant!

    Like

    Reply
  2. What a great idea with the blueberries on the bark and peach schnapps in marzipan? Yum!
    Thanks so much for taking part in the challenge 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  3. Both of your chocolates look great! I never would have guessed that you had any problems.

    T.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

