RSS Feed

Daring Baker: Petit Pain au Chocolat

The Daring Bakers go retro this month! Thanks to one of our very talented non-blogging members, Sarah, the Daring Bakers were challenged to make Croissants using a recipe from the Queen of French Cooking, none other than Julia Child!

I didn’t use Julia Child’s recipe.  No offense to her, but I didn’t understand adding oil to French pastry.  So I used a recipe from Baking Illustrated which was all butter 🙂

The finished product!

When I first read about this challenge, I was excited! @WineGuyTO and I hit up our local French Patisserie every weekend as we walk the dog, he getting a chocolate croissant or a ham and cheese , and I usually an apple turnover.  So I couldn’t just do croissants, I had to make les petits pains au chocolat.  I had lots of ideas for fillings, but ended up with a half square of semi-sweet chocolate in each.  If this turns out well, I will make them again with many different fillings.

The first thing I liked about my recipe was that it wasn’t going to take overnight.  From start to finish, it was about 7ish hours.  I did leave my dough in the fridge overnight (I had a mishap with yeast and had to start over late in the day).  I can totally see myself readying these Saturday night to pop into the over Sunday mornings.

Mmm, flaky

They didn’t take as long as indicated, maybe because I was using the convection bake on my oven. I had the timer set for 20 mins (recipe called for 18-22) and took them out after 16 mins.  I definitely recommend using a ruler to measure out the dough and then the pieces.  I got close to the required 20 inch square but some of my pieces were uniform, which resulted in a few larger/smaller croissants.

We tried one warm, it was gooey with chocolate, buttery and the right amount of flaky. Definitely will do this again!

Leave a Reply

