RSS Feed

Gastropost Mission: Peaches

Posted on

 

I recently joined the National Post‘s Gastropost, a weekly foodie mission.  Everyone posts to the Gastropost tumblr their submissions, and the Post publishes selected ones each week.  This week I was one of them! Check it out here.  Because I joined late, I have only completed three missions (frozen treats, rhubarb, and last week’s peaches).  You can see my Gastropost submissions as I also have tumblr for  An Up Town Gal just for Gastroposting.

I decided to share this week’s mission because, even though I am currently packing for my move this week, I really wanted to make more jam.  I had lots of cherries and limes, and thought that the flavours would play nicely together.  Add in some vanilla bean, peaches and use some Riesling and you have jam!

I based my version off of this one from The Purple Foodie.  I did find that it took longer than the 40-50 minutes to cook and that it was still pretty runny when it went into the jars (it made 2 1/2 pints with a small dish left over). It also did not thicken as the recipe said as it cooled, maybe because of the Riesling?  No problem! It will be great as an ice cream topping instead.  I did try it on some bread and it was so flavourful.  All the flavours but the lime really came through, and the fruit had absorbed the Riesling nicely.

 

**I substituted 1/2 of the cup of water with Riesling.  I also thought of macerating the fruit with Triple Sec, Grand Marnier or Bourbon.

Next week’s Gastopost is “Summer Flavours Revisted”.  Tough!

 

Leave a Reply

